The University of Arizona logo

University Winter Closure

Most University of Arizona departments close or reduce operations between Christmas and New Year’s Day. Three paid holidays fall within this period: Christmas Eve (floating holiday), Christmas Day, and New Year’s Day. Three or four days, depending on the calendar, are mandatory paid Closure leave. 

Based on critical need, supervisors may request a waiver from the Senior Vice President for Business Affairs to allow their department to stay open, or select employees within a department may be instructed to remain at work. These decisions are made by the supervisor, not individual employees. Those who will be working during the University Closure should report normal work hours and work with their supervisor to use University Closure days at a convenient time before June 30 of the following year.

University Closure Dates

UA Holiday Calendar

University Closure Dates for 2019: December 26, 27, 30, and 31, 2019

Holiday & Closure Pay

In order to be paid for the three holidays and four closure days during University closure, employees must be on “approved paid status” on the day before and day after the closure. This means they must be in the UA Payroll system and either at work or on prearranged paid leave (such as vacation).

University Closure Compensation Policy