The University of Arizona logo

University Closure

Thursday, November 29, 2018
To: Benefits-Eligible Employees
From: Division of Human Resources
Date: November 29, 2018
Subject: University Closure

As you may know, most University of Arizona departments close or reduce operations between Christmas and New Year’s Day.

For the upcoming University Closure period, paid time for employees eligible for full University benefits will be pre-loaded as follows:

Monday, December 24, 2018 Holiday
Tuesday, December 25, 2018 Holiday
Wednesday, December 26, 2018 University Closure Time
Thursday, December 27, 2018 University Closure Time
Friday, December 28, 2018 University Closure Time
Monday, December 31, 2018 University Closure Time
Tuesday, January 1, 2019 Holiday
 

Based on critical need, some departments may stay open, or require certain employees to remain at work during all or part of the University Closure. Those who will be working during the University Closure should remove the designation in order to report normal work hours and work with their supervisor to use holiday and/or University Closure days at a convenient time before June 30, 2019.

As a reminder, to receive pay for the three holidays and University Closure time, employees must be on "approved paid status" on the day before and day after the closure. This means they must be in the UA Payroll system and either at work or on prearranged paid leave (such as vacation) on Friday, December 21, 2018 and Wednesday, January 2, 2019.

Have questions? View the University Winter Closure website or contact the Division of Human Resources at hrsolutions@email.arizona.edu or call:

Main Campus
Phone: (520) 621-3660
 

UA Health Sciences
Phone: (520) 626-5593
 

Phoenix Biomedical Campus
Phone: (602) 827-2600